Loss of learning initiative

Loss of learning initiative

Information for finding a supplier to support the national effort to combat the loss of learning effects of school closures, staff and student illness.

School closures, staff and student illness, isolation periods, and other factors have combined over the last 3 years to disrupt learning. As a result, it is widely acknowledged that many children and young people have not made the learning progress they would normally make.

On 14 September, Hon Tinetti announced a package of initiatives to support students to accelerate their learning. Part of this package included targeted funding for additional tutoring support for students in years 7 - 13 who most need opportunities to catch up on lost learning. Evidence shows that tutoring can be effective over the medium term, when done right. Tutoring has been used internationally as a targeted intervention to support students who have experienced disrupted learning.

National panel of providers

To support you in finding a suitable provider, we have established a national panel of providers who can help you deliver tutoring in your school.
 
The National Panel is a list of suppliers of approved tutor services that schools and kura are able to engage to support learners in years 7-13.

The providers listed here have online delivery options available. Some providers subjects or services may not be available in an online format.

View Supplier Details

Provider Learning Area Focus
Inspiration Education Subjects include most NCEA level 1-3
Accelerate Tuition Tutors specialise in NCEA literacy and numeracy. NZQA Scholarship tuition available. 
Tutoring for Excellence All subjects and years
Primary VLN Literacy and numeracy for years 7 to 10
Kip McGrath  Literacy and Numeracy, K-13, catchup / remedial and specialist maths / English / sciences (11-13).

View Supplier Details 

Provider Area Covered Learning Area Focus
Numberworks Whangarei Maths and English, up to year 11.

 

View Supplier Details 

Provider Area Covered Learning Area Focus
Inspiration Education Auckland Subjects include most NCEA level 1-3
Tutoring for Excellence Auckland Year 7-10 tutors specialise in literacy and numeracy. NCEA subjects supported vary by tutor availability. 
Numberworks Auckland Maths and English, up to year 11.
Kip McGrath Auckland  Literacy and Numeracy, K-13, catchup / remedial and specialist maths / English / sciences (11-13).

View Supplier Details 

Provider Area Covered Learning Area Focus
In2 Learning

Matamata

Morrinsville

Years 7 to 10 tutors specialise in numeracy and literacy. NCEA subject support depends on the availability of suitable tutors.
Numberworks Hamilton Maths and English, up to year 11.
Kip McGrath Whitianga  Literacy and Numeracy, K-13, catchup / remedial and specialist maths / English / sciences (11-13).

View Supplier Details 

Provider Area Covered Learning Area Focus
East Bay REAP Bay of Plenty, inclusive of the Kaweau, Ōpōtiki and Whakatāne Districts / Territorial local authorities  
In2 Learning Whakatāne Years 7 to 10 tutors specialise in numeracy and literacy. NCEA subject support depends on the availability of suitable tutors.
Numberworks

Tauranga

Rotorua

Maths and English, up to year 11.
Kip McGrath

Tauranga

Papamoa

Mt. Maunganui

 Literacy and Numeracy, K-13, catchup / remedial and specialist maths / English / sciences (11-13).

View Supplier Details 

Provider Area Covered Learning Area Focus
In2 Learning Gisborne Years 7 to 10 tutors specialise in numeracy and literacy. NCEA subject support depends on the availability of suitable tutors.

View Supplier Details 

Provider Area Covered Learning Area Focus
In2 Learning

Waipukurau

Napier

Hastings

Years 7 to 10 tutors specialise in numeracy and literacy. NCEA subject support depends on the availability of suitable tutors.
Numberworks Napier Maths and English, up to year 11.

View Supplier Details 

Provider Area Covered Learning Area Focus
Numberworks New Plymouth Maths and English, up to year 11.

View Supplier Details 

Provider Area Covered Learning Area Focus
Numberworks Palmerston North Maths and English, up to year 11.
Kip McGrath

Whanganui

Palmerston North

 

View Supplier Details 

Provider Area Covered Learning Area Focus
Inspiration Education

Wellington

Masterton

Subjects include most NCEA level 1-3
Numberworks Wellington Maths and English, up to year 11.
Kip McGrath

Wellington

Kāpiti Coast

Upper Hutt

Lower Hutt

 Literacy and Numeracy, K-13, catchup / remedial and specialist maths / English / sciences (11-13).

View Supplier Details 

Provider Area Covered Learning Area Focus
Kip McGrath Nelson  Literacy and Numeracy, K-13, catchup / remedial and specialist maths / English / sciences (11-13).

View Supplier Details 

Provider Area Covered Learning Area Focus
Accelerate Tuition Christchurch Tutors specialise in NCEA literacy and numeracy. NZQA Scholarship tuition available. 
Inspiration Education Christchurch Subjects include most NCEA level 1-3
Tutoring for Excellence Christchurch All subjects and years
Numberworks Christchurch Maths and English, up to year 11.
Kip McGrath

Christchurch

Lincoln

Rangiora

Darfield

 Literacy and Numeracy, K-13, catchup / remedial and specialist maths / English / sciences (11-13).

View Supplier Details 

Provider Area Covered Learning Area Focus
In2 Learning

Balclutha

Dunedin

Wanaka

Years 7 to 10 tutors specialise in numeracy and literacy. NCEA subject support depends on the availability of suitable tutors.
Numberworks Dunedin Maths and English, up to year 11.

View Supplier Details 

Provider Area Covered Learning Area Focus
In2 Learning

Invercargill

Winton

Gore

Years 7 to 10 tutors specialise in numeracy and literacy. NCEA subject support depends on the availability of suitable tutors.
Numberworks Invercargill Maths and English, up to year 11.

Supplier details

Inspiration Education

Inspiration Education is a personalized high school tutoring/academic coaching service. We address NCEA curriculum content as well as learning strategies, and other holistic factors such as mindset and self-management. Our tutors are high-achieving university students or graduates who receive 20-25 hours of specialised training per year. We specialise in both online and in person tutoring, have worked with teachers and schools, and serve a diverse range of students (for example, neurodiverse students and accelerated learning). 

Contact

Primary Contact: William Guzzo (General Manager)
Email: tutoring@inspirationeducation.co.nz
Site: https://inspirationeducation.co.nz
Phone: 0800 438 886

In2 Learning

In2Learning is a network of after-school tuition centers owned and operated by qualified teachers following best practice. NZ developed paper, electronic and hands-on resources are used to help students from years 1 to 13 to catchup, get ahead, or stay ahead.

Contact

Primary Contact: Sue Simpson
Email: info@in2learning.co.nz
Site: www.in2learning.co.nz

Accelerate Tuition

Accelerate Tuition was founded in 2021 by brother-sister duo, John-Paul and Alexandra Lay, and is Christchurch’s newest provider of NCEA and Scholarship tuition. Locally-run and operated by a small team of students, we are passionate about providing excellent tuition at a competitive price. All of our tutors have achieved exceptionally highly in NCEA and have the knowledge, experience, and expertise to help students achieve their best results.

Contact

Contact Form — Accelerate Tuition
Emailinfo@acceleratetuition.co.nz
Phone027 977 4555

Tutoring for Excellence

Tutoring for Excellence has over 25 years’ experience tutoring students in literacy and numeracy. We have helped over 50,000 families!

Our tutors tailor their lesson plans based on the student’s individual needs. Each student has an individually tailored program designed to complement the student’s particular subject, syllabus, or curriculum, with scope for extension or remedial work as required.

Tutors will ascertain a student’s level of understanding within the NZ school curriculum by conversing with the student, parent or guardian, and teachers. They may also review school reports and conduct informal tests. Relevant resources, examples and exercises will be selected based on their findings and adjusted as the child progresses.

Contact

Primary Contact:  Elisha Holder, Operation Manager
Email: elisha.holder@tutoringforexcellence.co.nz
Phone: 09 883 1200

Numberworks'nWords

NumberWorks’nWords English and maths tuition supports students ages 5 - 16 with their education by personalising learning programmes specifically catering to the individual needs of each student.

We offer free English and maths assessments which identify gaps and weaknesses. With this information, in conjunction with the parents and child, our team will develop a personalised learning programme to meet your child’s learning needs.

Our in-centre English tuition and maths tuition is customised to each child, so whether they are learning to read and write or learning basic numeracy, preparing for English and maths exams, or looking for extension work that challenges them, tutoring at NumberWorks’nWords
can help.

Location Primary Contact Phone Number Email
Whangarei Mike Smith 09 438 1144 whangarei@numberworks.com
Silverdale Olivia Stewart 09 426 4236 silverdale@numberworks.com
Albany Suzanne Van den Heuvel 09 414 1184 albany@numberworks.com
Takapuna Andrew and Jackie Pound 09 489 8388 takapuna@numberworks.com
Browns Bay (East Coast Bays) Pretti Chandra 09 478 7130 ecb@numberworks.com
Birkenhead Mohini Bahn 09 418 0950 birkenhead@numberworks.com
Grey Lynn Michelle Buckley 09 360 0816 greylynn@numberworks.com
Remuera Ayla Matencio 09 522 0810 remuera@numberworks.com
Manukau Lini Ramanathan 09 242 1241 manukau@numberworks.com
Royal Oak David Loots 09 625 8091 royaloak@numberworks.com
Howick Katherine Nash 09 535 1926 howick@numberworks.com
New Lynn Duncan Henderson 09 828 8090 newlynn@numberworks.com
Henderson Ranjeeta Sharma 09 836 3123 henderson@numberworks.com
NorthWest Alison England & Chelsea Lyons 09 416 3123 northwest@numberworks.com
Rototuna Clyde & Kim du Toit 07 853 8323 rototuna@numberworks.com
Hamilton Central Brittany Yeo 07 847 0082 hamilton@numberworks.com
Tauranga Leanne Rohdes- Robinson 07 578 5575 tauranga@numberworks.com
Rotorua Leanne Stewart 07 349 3965 rotorua@numberworks.com
Napier Andrew Crawford 06 835 5678 hawkesbay@numberworks.com
Palmerston North Arthur Yeo 06 354 3211 palmerstonnorth@numberworks.com
New Plymouth Natalie Smith 06 769 6465 newplymouth@numberworks.com
Lower Hutt Charlotte tait 04 570 0737 lowerhutt@numberworks.com
Kilbirnie Fergus Cleverly 04 387 1013 kilbirnie@numberworks.com
Karori Bridget Brownlee 04 476 9200 karori@numberworks.com
Johnsonville Rowen McCarthy 04 477 4055 johnsonville@numberworks.com
Burnside Ross Moultrie 03 358 7917 burnside@numberworks.com
Cashmere Ivan leary 03 332 2033 cashmere@numberworks.com
Rolleston Nicola Russell 03 390 8420 rolleston@numberworks.com
Dunedin Lisa Borthwick 03 474 1104 dunedin@numberworks.com
Invercargill Raweyn Hansen 03 218 6804 invercargill@numberworks.com

The Literacy Shed

The Literacy Shed Taupō specialises in one- to-one and small group tutoring following a Structured Literacy Approach tailored for children who have difficulties acquiring literacy skills. Lessons are individualised, explicit, multisensory and systematic.

Contact

Primary Contact: Tina Wake
Phone07 809 5019
Phone022 477 1694

Primary VLN

The VLN Primary is a schools' based network initiative aimed at increasing equity and access to the NZ curriculum for all learners.

Contact

Primary Contact: Rachel Whalley
Site: VLN Primary
Emailrachel.whalley@vln.school.nz

Kip McGrath

Founded in in 1976 by public school teachers Kip & Dugnea McGrath, Kip McGrath Education Centres now operate 45 tuition centres in New Zealand and over 560 globally.  We employ qualified teachers to deliver personalised, curriculum-aligned remedial tuition in literacy and numeracy from K-13 both in person and online, in small groups of 5 or fewer students. 

Contact

Primary Contact: Samantha Kane
Freephone (NZ only): 0800 032 129
EmailSamantha.kane@kipmcgrath.co.nz

Location Primary Contact Phone Number Email
Avonhead Brendan & Janine Climo 03 342 7110

 avonhead@kipmcgrath.co.nz

Barrington Ashleigh Probert 03 332 2265 barrington@kipmcgrath.co.nz
Beachlands & Surrounds Magdel Barnard 021 760 636 beachlands@kipmcgrath.co.nz
Botany Krish Manik 09 271 1146 botany@kipmcgrath.co.nz
Cambridge & Surrounds Shivani Kant 027 349 2029 cambrdige@kipmcgrath.co.nz
Christchurch East Ashleigh Probert 03 332 2265 christchurcheast@kipmcgrath.co.nz
Ferrymead Helen Hudson 03 384 1188 ferrymead@kipmcgrath.co.nz
Darfield & Surrounds Mandy Johnston 027 337 8819 darfield@kipmcgrath.co.nz
Flat Bush Krish Manik 09 271 1146 flatbush@kipmcgrath.co.nz
Hamilton East & Surrounds Paul & Rosemary Kelly 07 853 5013 hamiltoneast@kipmcgrath.co.nz
Hamilton West & Surrounds Paul & Rosemary Kelly 07 8482262 hamiltonwest@kipmcgrath.co.nz
Hawera & Surrounds Carike van der Merwe 06 278 6587 hawera@kipmcgrath.co.nz
Henderson Roy & Lynne Withey 09 836 9061 henderson@kipmcgrath.co.nz
Johnsonville Zenon Ellwood 04 478 5000 johnsonville@kipmcgrath.co.nz
Howick Theresa Bosch 09 534 1619 howick@kipmcgrath.co.nz
Kapiti Coast & Surrounds Zenon Ellwood 04 528 7707 kapiticoast@kipmcgrath.co.nz
Kilbirnie & Surrounds Joy Hannah 04 387 8586 kilbirnie@kipmcgrath.co.nz
Lincoln/ Rolleston  Melanie Hikuroa 027 245 1998 lincoln@kipmcgrath.co.nz
Lower Hutt Zenon Ellwood 04 586 6573 johnsonville@kipmcgrath.co.nz
Manurewa Kay Moodly 09 267 8392 manurewa@kipmcgrath.co.nz
Merivale David Wilkinson 021 084 70650 merivale@kipmcgrath.co.nz
Mount Maunganui Saskia Leslie 07 575 5654 mtmaunganui@kipmcgrath.co.nz
Nelson & Surrounds Zoe Eggleton 027 526 7741 nelson@kipmcgrath.co.nz
Pakuranga Janne Attaya 09 576 9069 pakuranga@kipmcgrath.co.nz
Palmerston North & Surrounds Samantha Kane 06 355 3450 palmerstonnorth@kipmcgrath.co.nz
Papakura Rebecca Chambers 09 298 5791 papakura@kipmcgrath.co.nz
Papamoa Saskia Leslie 07 575 5654 papamoa@kipmcgrath.co.nz
Papatoetoe Jullian Holland 09 277 9011 papatoetoe@kipmcgrath.co.nz
Porirua Zenon Ellwood 04 232 6461 papatoetoe@kipmcgrath.co.nz
Pukekohe & Surrounds Dianne Anderson 09 238 9171 pukekohe@kipmcgrath.co.nz
Queenstown & Surrounds Lucy Geraghty 021 082 62868 wakatipu@kipmcgrath.co.nz
Rangiora & Surrounds Grant Dykes 03 313 3638 rangiora@kipmcgrath.co.nz
St Heliers Paul Ecclestone & Jenny Bowdler 09 218 6999 stheliers@kipmcgrath.co.nz
Stonefields Paul Ecclestone & Jenny Bowdler 09 527 8483 stonefields@kipmcgrath.co.nz
Tauranga & Surrounds Stephanie McMillan 07 578 1518 tauranga@kipmcgrath.co.nz
Te Puke Saskia Leslie 07 575 5654 mtmaunganui@kipmcgrath.co.nz
Three Kings Jenny Bowdler 09 625 0229 threekings@kipmcgrath.co.nz
Upper Hutt Zenon Ellwood 04 528 7707 upperhutt@kipmcgrath.co.nz
Wanganui & Surrounds Caroline Burrows 06 348 0035 wanganui@kipmcgrath.co.nz
Westgate & Surrounds Roy & Lynne Withey 09 931 0272 westgate@kipmcgrath.co.nz
Whitianga & Surrounds Pauline Curtain 07 866 4219 whitianga@kipmcgrath.co.nz

 

Using the panel

Self Sourcing

The Panel can be used at your discretion and you are able to directly source suppliers from the Panel based on the best fit for your cohorts of learners. This is the easiest option and provides greatest flexibility to complement any other additional support already planned or in place. Simply contact your chosen provider and let your Education Advisor know.

Even if you have already received your funding allocation, you can still source your provider off the Panel. Please contact your regional office and let them know this is the case.

Ministry-supported

Alternatively, you may wish for the Ministry to support the contracting and invoicing process for you. Let your Education Advisor know you would like to do this and they will be able to support you through the process.

Please note that you will still need to enter the termly monitoring reporting through salesforce, as well as working with the provider to identify ākonga, learning focus and making the necessary arrangements. The provider who is delivering the tutoring should provide you with the information needed.